Exhibitions - Queens International 4

Queens International 4

In 2000, the US census revealed the borough of Queens to be the most diverse county in the nation. Two years later, the Queens Museum of Art inaugurated Queens International, a biennial exhibition of artists from around he world who live and/or work in Queens. Celebrating the most recent artistic achievements of Queens with 42 artists, collaborations and collectives from 18 countries working in a broad range of traditional and unorthodox media, the exhibition examines the boundaries of culture, tradition, heritage and nationality.


Like its predecessors, Queens International 4 addresses the relationship between “internationalism” and “multiculturalism” from a local standpoint. Culture is the logic by which we give order to the world. No one stands outside of it. In Queens, one comes to recognize that nations are not walled fortresses but rather permeable containers for the fluid shifts of culture. Here, multiculturalism does not imply a static representation of international identities but rather an ever-changing shift amongst multiple cultures that blurs ethnic, racial, gendered and ideological boundaries. Circumventing conventional art discourse to engage with their immediate surroundings, the artists of Queens ignite a critical dialogue through lived experience, often in the form of collaborative, site-specific and public practices.


Queens International 4 is co-curated by José Ruiz and Erin Sickler.


Participating artists: Cara Judea Alhadeff, Heidi Boisvert, Omar Chacón, Corey D’Augustine, Gregory de la Haba, Domenick Di Pietrantonio, Alejandro Diaz, eteam, Lars Fisk, Future Shock (Nicholas Ragbir, Veronica Ragbir, Travis Bhimraj, Anil Bhimraj, Jessica Ragbir and Rattan Bhimraj), Tommy Hartung, Karolyn Hatton, Daina Higgins, Oded Hirsch, Sin-ying Ho, Ryan Humphrey, Janelle Iglesias, Lisa Iglesias, Darren Jones, Cecilia Jurado, Jayson Keeling, Las Hermanas Iglesias, Ha Na Lee, Jia-Jen Lin, Jodie Lyn-Kee-Chow, Yasue Maetake, Derick Melander, Brendan Mulcahy, Kirsten Nash, Kymia Nawabi, SP Weather Station website (Natalie Campbell and Heidi Neilson with Leah Beeferman, Susan Goethel Campbell, Carrie Dashow, Mike Estabrook, Neil Freeman, Richard Garrison, Michael Geminder, Isaac Gertman, Kenneth Goldsmith, Vandana Jain, Katarina Jerinic, Daniel Larson, Bridget Lewis, Jane Marsching, Nathalie Miebach, Lize Mogel, Chris Petrone, Sarah Nicole Phillips, Andrea Polli, Chuck Varga, Jing Yu and Liz Zanis), OKAMOTO STUDIO (Shintaro Okamoto, Takeo Okamoto, Jeremy Mangan, Ben Grasso, Timothy Colla, Kaz Adachi, Thomas Brown, Gerard Greco, Meghan McKee and Daniel Guzman), Jonas Olson and Carol Pereira, Douglas Paulson and the Anti-Fascist Culture Club (Chris Domenick, Christopher Robbins, Chuck Yatsuk, Elizabeth Tubergen, Emcee C. M., Master of None, Eva la Cour, Jacob Goble, John Baca and Rachelle Beaudoin), Justine Reyes, Jaye Rhee, Dario Solman, Tim Thyzel, Nicole Tschampel, Jovan Villalba, Chin Chih Yang, Amy Yoes


Blumenfeld Development Group, Ltd., Build it Green! NYC, JetBlue Airlines, the QMA’s Board of Trustees and Advisory Committee, New York City Department of Cultural Affairs, the New York City Department for the Aging and the New York City Department of Youth and Community Development. Additional funding is provided by the New York State Legislature, the New York State Council on the Arts, New York Council on the Humanities, National Endowment for the Arts and the Institute for Museum and Library Services,