Lauren Haynes Appointed to the Committee for the Preservation of the White House

A headshot of Lauren Haynes smiling against a light gray backdrop. She has short black hair and brown skin, is wearing long, wedge-shaped gold earrings, and a dark green shirt.


Today, President Biden announced the appointment of Lauren Haynes, the Queens Museum’s Director of Curatorial Affairs and Programs, and twelve other members to the Committee for the Preservation of the White House.

The Committee for the Preservation of the White House is an advisory committee charged with the preservation of the White House, the official home and principal workplace of the President of the United States. The Committee is largely made up of citizens appointed by the President for their experience with historic preservation, architecture, decorative arts, and for their scholarship in these areas.

The Committee is charged with establishing policies relating to the museum function of the White House, its state rooms, and collections. It also works to make recommendations on acquisitions for the permanent collection of the White House and provides advice on changes to principal rooms on the ground floor, state floor, and the historic guest suites on the residence floor of the White House Executive Residence.

The First Lady serves as Honorary Chair of the Committee, and the Director of the National Park Service serves as its Chair. Additionally, the Curator of the White House, Chief Usher of the White House, Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution, Chair of the United States Commission of Fine Arts, and Director of the National Gallery of Art serve as Members of the Committee.

Full list of newly-appointed Committee members:

Penny Ashford
Leslie Greene Bowman
Mel Buchanan
Wendy A. Cooper
John E. Frank
Lauren Haynes
Ethan W. Lasser
Janni Lehrer-Stein
J. Dean Norton
Richard C. Nylander
MK Pritzker
Ellen Susman
John Wilmerding